Farewell from Jen Perkins

Dear Trinity,

I have loved working with you and your children.  It has been a joy to watch our incredible young people grow. Those children who were in 1st grade when I started at TUMC will be entering middle school this year. Those students who were in my first middle school class are leaving to go to college. It is with them in mind, that I leave to enter the next phase of my life.

It is my goal to find a teaching job in the fall. I will carry with me all the wonderful memories I have of the lessons here at Trinity. Ross and I were newlyweds when I first started working here. We look forward to having Sundays available to spend together or with family.. I don’t know what the future holds, but I am hopeful and joyful.

I will not say goodbye. Trinity is a part of me and I intend to stay a part of Trinity. You will see me in a different role, and I will be around less frequently. But I will still be here.

Yet, as a parting gift, I ask you all to remember during these difficult economic times, it is more important than ever that we take care one another. I have always valued Trinity for its sense of community, generosity and commitment to social justice. Take a moment to look around you. Notice those here in our church family who are struggling whether it is financially, medically, emotionally, etc. Reach out to them with a smile or a hug, an acknowledgment of the divinity within each of us. Do what you can to help.

I’d like to end this letter with the words of Abraham Lincoln in the 1990’s cult classic Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure  “Be excellent to each other, and party on dudes!”

Thank you for 5 awesome years,
Jennifer Perkins

This entry was posted in No Category and tagged , by Trinity UMC. Bookmark the permalink.

About Trinity UMC

Trinity United Methodist Church is not a church that has all the answers, but we do know the source of our hope, healing, and love. Your continued participation is welcome as we seek to serve God through each other, our community, and our world. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions or would simply like to talk. Trinity United Methodist Church is a dynamic community of people, who through their trust in God's faithfulness, strive to provide an inclusive, joyful, loving, and caring environment. In this community, people can find spiritual nurture and growth, mutual support of individual needs, and a sense of family. Reaching out through vital and creative worship, people-centered programs, and social and environmental stewardship, this congregation serves the local and global communities.

Leave a Reply

